Department of Procedural Law

About the Department

Elizabeth Rutsate
Dr Elizabeth Rutsate

Head of Department

Department of Procedural Law

The Procedural Law department focuses on the practical or procedural aspects of legal practice. The Department of Procedural Law offers a wide variety of courses, the majority of which are compulsory. These include but are not limited to the following; Interpretation of Statutes and Legal ethics and professional training; Civil Procedure (Lower, Superior; Specialist Courts); Criminal Procedure; Law of Evidence; Accounting for Legal Practitioners; Conveyancing and Notarial Practice Professional; Clinical Development Levels 1 and 2 (legal drafting; attachment; advocacy; mooting skills), Law Practice Management.

The courses offered under the Procedural Law Department are relevant to all students including those who might wish to join the Corporate sector and/or Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) due to the increasing need for competent Public Interest case NGO lawyers and effective monitoring by internal lawyers of external practising lawyers engaged by business corporates.

Department Faculty

Africa University's faculty are leaders in their area of expertise. The university continues to secure the best faculty talent from around the world who are passionate about nurturing the next generation of agricultural leaders. They provide students with hands-on experiences, cutting-edge research projects, and access to state-of-the-art facilities, ensuring they are well-prepared to meet the demands of a rapidly evolving agricultural landscape

Nkosana Maphosa
Mr Nkosana Maphosa


Department of Procedural Law

This will close in 0 seconds